SLFP to begin work on manifesto

[TamilNet, Saturday, 01 October 2005, 00:28 GMT]
The Central Committee of the Sri Lanka Freedom Party (SLFP) Friday appointed a nine-member committee to draft the manifesto for the presidential election at a tensed meeting presided by Sri Lanka's President Ms Chandrika Kumaratunge held at the Presidential House Friday, political sources said. The Manifesto has to be ratified by the Central Committee before it is officially released.

Mr.Mahinda Rajapakse, Prime Minister and the presidential candidate is the Chairmand of the Committee and other members are Messrs: Ratnasiri Wickremanayake, Maithiripala Sirisena, Nimal Sripala de Silva, John Seneviratne, Susil Premajayanth, Reginald Cooray, Alavi Mowlana and Reggie Ranatunge.

Mr.Mahinda Rajapakse submitted a draft manifesto at the commencement of the meeting but allegedly Ms Chandrika Kumaratunge rejected the manifesto saying that the document was not prepared according to the SLFP policy, political sources in Colombo said.


Latest 15 Reports
Find this article at: