GoSL delegation announced for Geneva talks

[TamilNet, Thursday, 09 February 2006, 11:14 GMT]
The Sri Lankan delegation to the talks in Geneva would comprise of SL Ministers Nimal Sripala De Silva, Jeyaraj Fernandopulle and Rohitha Bogollagama, said Sri Lanka's cabinet spokesman, Anura Priyadharshana Yapa, on Thursday, sources in Colombo said. Talks in Geneva between the Government of Sri Lanka (GoSL) and the Liberation Tigers of Tamil Eelam (LTTE) are scheduled for 22-23rd February.

The names of the officials who would accompany the three-member ministerial team would be announced later, according to the Cabinet spokesman.

The Government has also appointed a steering committee headed by Foreign Minister Mangala Samaraweera on peace building, he further noted.

The steering committee will assist Sri Lankan President Mahinda Rajapakse to formulate a long term vision for the peace process and guide the negotiation process through the immediate, he added.


Latest 15 Reports
Find this article at: