UNP to participate in APRC meeting

[TamilNet, Saturday, 04 November 2006, 11:28 GMT]
Sri Lanka's main opposition United National Party (UNP) has nominated parliamentarian Professor G.L.Peiris, and Mr.K.N.Choksy, former Finance Minister to participate in the All Party Representative Council (APRC) meeting. They will for the first time attend the APRC meeting scheduled to be held on Monday.

The UNP earlier decided not to make representation to the APRC. Now it has decided to nominate two members to the APRC after signing the MoU with the Sri Lanka Freedom Party, main constituent of the ruling United People's Freedom Alliance (UPFA) led by President Mahinda Rajapakse.

Science and Technology Minister Professor Tissa Vitarana is the chairman of the APRC.

Meanwhile, the UNP has appointed its Deputy leader Karu Jayasuriya, chairman designate Rukman Senanayake and Chief Opposition Whip Joseph Michael Perera to the implementation committee tasked with monitoring the MoU signed with the SLFP. The government is yet to nominate its members to the committee.


Latest 15 Reports
Find this article at: