2006 voters' register to be basis for East local elections

[TamilNet, Monday, 06 August 2007, 12:22 GMT]
Elections to local bodies in the Batticaloa district will be based on the 2006 voters' register, according to a directive issued by the Commissioner of Elections Mr.Dayananda Dissanayake to the Returning Officers of the eastern province, political sources in Batticaloa said.

The government has been taking steps to hold elections to the Batticaloa Municipal Council and several other Pradesya Sabaha in the district.

Elections, which were to be held in the year 2006, were postponed for a later date but have not been held due to the unsettled ground situation in the district.

Recently the parliament approved an amendment to the Local Government Ordinance to cancel all nomination papers submitted earlier and call for fresh nominations.


Latest 15 Reports
Find this article at: