UNP to contest Eastern PC election

[TamilNet, Wednesday, 26 March 2008, 06:31 GMT]
Sri Lanka's main opposition United National Party (UNP) Tuesday decided at its executive committee meeting to contest the forthcoming Eastern Provincial Council election which is to be held on May 10. Mr.Ranil Wickremasinghe, the leader of the UNP has been empowered by the party committee to hold talks with other political parties to form an alliance in this regard, UNP General Secretary Tissa Attanayake told media.

Mr. Tissa Attanayake further said that the decision was taken after a comprehensive discussion on the issue. Nomination Board to select suitable candidates from the districts of Trincomalee, Batticaloa and Ampaarai has been appointed with Wickremasinghe as its chairman. The nomination board comprises Rukman Senanayake, party chairman, party chief whip Joseph Michael Perera and counsel Shibly Aziz and Mr.Daya Pelpola.

Three party stalwarts have been appointed to identify suitable candidates at the district level. R.C. Jayalath Jayawardana has been appointed for Batticaloa district, Vajira Abeyawardene for Trincomalee district, and Daya Gamage for Ampaa'rai district.

Meanwhile Wickremasinghe is scheduled to meet Rauf Hakim, leader of the Sri Lanka Muslim Congress (SLMC) on Wednesday to explore the possibility of forging an alliance. Party Chairman Rukman Senanayake and general secretary Tissa Attanayake are also expected to participate in the talks.

Related Articles:
18.03.08   TNA to boycott Eastern PC elections - MP


Latest 15 Reports
Find this article at: