Provinicial Council Election process begins in east

[TamilNet, Thursday, 27 March 2008, 11:54 GMT]
District Secretariats in Batticaloa, Trincomalee and Ampaarai Thursday began accepting deposits from prospective independent groups and nomination lists from recognized political parties which are to contest the forthcoming Eastern Provincial Council. Three independent groups paid their deposits for Trincomalee district and three in Ampaarai district on the first day, media sources said.

Each candidate contesting in the independent group is required to pay a deposit of Rs.2000. Independent groups are allowed to pay their deposits till April 2, a day before the final nomination day. Registered political parties are exempted from paying deposits.

Submission of nomination lists by the independent groups and registered political parties close on April 3 at 12 noon, election department officials said.

In the 37 member- Eastern Provincial Council, 35 members would be elected on district basis- Trincomalee district 10, Batticaloa 11 and Ampaarai 14. Two bonus seats would be offered to the party or independent group that captures largest number of seats in the council.

However, each party and independent group submitting nominations for Trincomalee district should have thirteen names in their lists, Batticaloa district 14 names and 17 names in Ampaarai district, according to election department.

The number of eligible voters in the eastern province is 9,82,721.

The breakdown of voters by district follows:

Trincomalee district - 2,42,463 (Trincomalee- 91,598, Moothoor- 84,175 and Seruvila- 66,690)

Batticaloa district- 3.30,250 (Kalkudah- 94,359, Batticaloa- 154,761 and Paddiruppu- 81,830).

Ampaarai district: 4,09,308 (Kalmunai- 64,316, Sammanthurai- 69,057, Pottuvil- 133 765, Ampaarai- 142,170).

Counting of votes would take place in each district.


Latest 15 Reports
Find this article at: