Sri Lanka parliament extends Emergency

[TamilNet, Thursday, 07 August 2008, 05:41 GMT]
The State of Emergency imposed in Sri Lanka on 12th August 2005 was extended by another month Wednesday by Sri Lanka's parliament by a majority of seventy two votes. Eighty four parliamentarians voted in support of the extension, and twelve voted against, parliamentary sources said.

Members of the ruling United Peoples Freedom Alliance (UPFA), Jathika Hela Urumaya (JHU), Janatha Vimukthi Peramuna (JVP) and Jathika Nidahas Peramuna (JNP), the splinter group of the JVP voted for the extension motion moved by Prime Minister Ratnasiri Wickremanayake on Tuesday in parliament.

Members of the Tamil National Alliance (TNA) voted against, sources said.


Latest 15 Reports
Find this article at: