TNA submits candidates’ list to contest Vanni district

[TamilNet, Thursday, 25 February 2010, 18:25 GMT]
Tamil National Aliance (TNA) submitted Wednesday its list of candidates to contest Vanni district in the forthcoming parliamentary election at Vavuniyaa Secretariat, sources in Vavuniyaa said. Meanwhile, United National Party (UNP) is expected to submit Thursday its list of candidates contesting Jaffna district with Ms. Vijayakala Maheswaran, wife of late Thiyagarajah Maheswaran, former Colombo district parliamentarian, as its chief candidate.

Selvam Adaikalanathan is the chief candidate in the TNA list along with Sivasakthy Anannthan, S. Vino Vinothakaralingam, D. S. Soosaithasan, Perumal Palaniyandi, Dr. T. W. Jeyakularajah, lecturer S. Selvarajah, Lawyer S. Siraiva and retired accountant Logasountharalingam. Altogether there are 9 contestants.

 United National Party (UNP)
Vijayakala Maheswaran
Late Thiyagarajah Maheswaran’s brother Thuvarakeswaran is expected to contest Jaffna district in UNP ticket while his another brother Parameswaran is said to be contesting as a candidate of the ruling United Peoples Freedom Alliance (UPFA).

Eelam People’s Democratic Party has decided to contest with Betel Leaf as its symbol in Jaffna district with 8 candidates along with three Sri Lanka Freedom Party (SLFP) candidates and a candidate of Rizad Badudin’s Muslim party, sources in Jaffna said.


Latest 15 Reports
Find this article at: