New Secretaries appointed to ‘Mahinda Chintana’ government

[TamilNet, Thursday, 25 November 2010, 12:24 GMT]
55 Secretaries, the highest civil servants of the ministries appointed Tuesday by the President of the Colombo government Mr. Mahinda Rajapaksa, were advised by him to discharge their duties properly according to the ‘Mahinda Chintana’, reports Daily Mirror. Structuring the ministries in his second term of office, Mr. Rajapasksa handed over new appointment letters to the secretaries of the various ministries. The Mahinda Chintana list of Secretaries has one Tamil and one Muslim among the 55. The lone Tamil secretary is appointed to the Ministry of Traditional Industries and Small Enterprise Development for which Mr. Douglas Devananda is the minister.

Meanwhile, selection of young Tamils or Muslims to the civil service was negligible over the past several years. This year there were none. In a few years time there won’t be any senior non-Sinhala civil servant or career diplomat in the island. Generations of young Tamils and Muslims are not going to be trained in those areas either.

In sharing his ‘mind’ with Mr. N. Ram of The Hindu, Mr. Rajapaksa said that he would encourage civil servants learning three languages.

The model will soon be like that of classical colonialism, in which the ‘conquered’ colony will be ruled by a race of Sinhala administrators and military officials akin to the British sahibs who came with or without the knowledge of local languages, to pave way for ‘development’.

Whenever Eezham Tamils speak of genocide, colonialism and the need of their national struggle, some international bigwigs wave them aside. But more than the voice of Tamils the acts of Colombo explicitly justify all of them, commented a retired civil servant in Colombo.

List of new Secretaries:

  1. Sumith Abeysinghe - Cabinet Secretary
  2. S. Amarasekera - Secretary to the Prime Minister
  3. Gotabaya Rajapakse - Ministry of Defence
  4. Dr. P.B. Jayasundara - Ministry of Finance and Planning
  5. Dr. P.B. Jayasundara - Ministry of Economic Development
  6. Dharani S. Wijethilaka - Ministry of Technology and Research
  7. W.B. Ganegala - Ministry of Mass Media and Information
  8. M.S. Wickramasinghe - Ministry of National Languages and Social Integration

  9. Suhada K. Gamlath - Ministry of Justice
  10. M.M.C. Pradinandu - Ministry of Power and Energy
  11. Thilak Kollure - Ministry of Industry and Commerce
  12. A.H Gamage - Ministry of Livestock and Rural Community Development
  13. T.A. Peiris - Ministry of Lands and Land Development
  14. A. Dissanayake - Ministry of Rehabilitation and Prison Reforms
  15. Nissanka M. Wijeratna - Ministry of Foreign Employment and Welfare
  16. R.A.D.R.M. Peiris - Ministry of Plantation Industries
  17. Ivan De Silva - Ministry of Irrigation & Water Resources Management
  18. K.V.P.R. De Silva - Ministry of Civil Aviation
  19. A. Abeygunasekara - Ministry of Water Supply and Drainage
  20. Wimal Rubasinghe - Ministry of Culture & the Arts
  21. C.R. Jayasinghe - Ministry of External Affairs
  22. N.R. Gunasekara - Ministry of Child Development and Women’s Affairs
  23. H.T.M. Jayawardana - Ministry of Petroleum Industries
  24. Ashoka Jayasekara - Ministry of Postal Services
  25. Dr. A. Damitha N. De Soysa - Ministry of Fisheries and Aquatic Resources Development
  26. W. Yamuna Chithranganee - Ministry of Social Services
  27. B.D. Dahanayake - Ministry of Indigenous Medicine
  28. P.B. Abeykoon - Ministry of Public Administration and Home Affairs
  29. Dr. R.H.S. Samaratunga - Minister of Environment
  30. S.M. Mohomad - Ministry of Disaster Management
  31. Dr. Nihal Jayathilake - Ministry of Local Government & Provincial Councils
  32. V. Sivagnanasothi - Ministry of Traditional Industries & Small Enterprise Development
  33. S.S. Hewapathirana - Ministry of Youth Affairs and Skills Development
  34. W.W. Gamage - Ministry of State Resources and Enterprise Development
  35. Dr. T.R.C. Ruberu - Ministry of Health
  36. Anura Siriwardana - Ministry of Coconut Development and Janatha Estate Development
  37. Sunil S. Sirisena - Ministry Co-operatives Internal Trade
  38. K.E. Karunathilake - Ministry of Agriculture
  39. Dr. Sunil Jayantha Navaratne - Ministry of Higher Education
  40. H.P.C. Herath - Ministry of Buddha Sasana and Religious Affairs
  41. Sujatha Cooray - Ministry of Ports and Highways
  42. M.D.K.H. Wijetunga - Ministry of National Heritage
  43. H.P. Jayatunga - Ministry of Parliamentary Affairs
  44. B.H.U.D. Basnayake - Ministry of Transport
  45. M.A. Athukorala - Ministry of Telecommunication and Information Technology
  46. W.M. Wijesooriya - Ministry of Public Relations and Public Affairs
  47. W. Kodithuwakku - Ministry of Private Transport Services
  48. W.M. Bandusena - Ministry of Productivity Promotion
  49. U.R. Seneviratne - Ministry of Sports
  50. W.M.P. Narampanawa - Ministry of Minor Export Promotion
  51. W.J.L.U. Wijeweera - Ministry of Labour and Labour Relations
  52. P.K.D. Amarawardene - Ministry Public Management Reforms
  53. S.M.P. Jayaratne Ministry of Construction, Engineering Services, Housing and Common Amenities
  54. B.K.U.A. Wickramasinghe - Ministry of Agrarian Services & Wildlife
  55. H.M. Gunasekera - Ministry of Education


Latest 15 Reports
14.06.19 18:48   Photo
Mano Ganesan misleads on Kanniyaa heritage dispute: Trincomalee Councillor
13.06.19 22:45   Photo
SL military targets Tamil grassroots activists in Mullaiththeevu, GS officer receives death threat
12.06.19 22:47   Photo
SL State-run Timber Corporation escalates logging of teak trees in Vanni
11.06.19 08:37   Photo
SLA Sinha regiment extorts money from Tamils in Batticaloa
10.06.19 21:30   Photo
Occupying Colombo schemes Sinhala Buddhist settlement in Chemmalai-East, Vanni
09.06.19 20:39   Photo
SL authorities plan to seize 50 acres as ‘Buddha Pooja Boomi’ in Thennai-maravadi
08.06.19 20:36   Photo
Kokku'laay-centric united action needed to counter Colombo wedging North-East
07.06.19 17:16   Photo
Tamils, Muslims need strategic alliance to protect heritage rights in North-East
06.06.19 19:18  
Sinhala Buddhist fundamentalism ultimate trump card in unitary ‘Sri Lanka’: Suresh
05.06.19 23:20   Photo
Sinhala monk named Galgamuwe ‘Santhabodhi’ spearheads Buddhicisation of Mullaiththeevu
04.06.19 19:02   Photo
SL military, police suppress traces of officer involved in fatal accident
03.06.19 22:32  
Muslims learn hard lesson on modus operandi of Sinhala majoritarianism: Journalist
02.06.19 12:14  
SL Forest Department seizes 1,500 acres of lands opposite Tamil Heroes Cemetery in Champoor
01.06.19 23:18   Photo
Prejudiced Archaeology Dept escalates ethnic tensions in Trincomalee: Civic Councillor
31.05.19 22:11  
IC failing to impose mediated solution, ultimately responsible for escalating Sinhala chauvinism
Find this article at: