Two EPDP in Jaffna, one PLOTE in Vanni

[TamilNet, Thursday, 06 December 2001, 18:20 GMT]
The TNA got 102324 votes in Jaffna, 86284 in Batticaloa and 41959 in the Vanni electoral district, election officials said Thursday. It got more than forty four thousand votes in the Ampara (Digamadulla) district, according to votes counted so far. Only two EPDP MPs were elected in Jaffna with 57208 votes. The EPDP, a close ally of President Chandrika Kumaratunga’s regime, was routed in all other districts of the north and east. Mr. Dharmalingam Sitharthan, the leader of the PLOTE, which came third in the Vanni with 9614 votes, was elected the sole MP from the group. The PLOTE too demands the lifting of Colombo’s ban on the Tigers and starting peace talks with them. The TNA lost the fourth seat in the Vanni by about 1200 votes, a spokesman for the Alliance said.

There are six seats in the Vanni, including the bonus for the party scoring the highest votes. The UNP/SLMC combine got two MPs for the Vanni by scoring 26794 votes, more than half of which were from displaced persons living in the Puttalam district. The PLOTE got 9614 votes in the Vanni. The PA was defeated.

In Batticaloa, the SLMC got a seat for 26725 votes. Ex-deputy minister in the PA regime, Mr. Mohideen Abdul Cader was elected. The PA got one for 25705. Mr. Ganeshamoorthy, ex-deputy minister in the PA government was defeated and Mr. M. L. A. M Hisbullah, a controversial Muslim politician from the village of Kattankudy who was also an ex- deputy minister was elected MP.

The UNP lost the seat it won here in October 2000. Mr. Alisahir Moulana, a popular ex-MP from of Eravur, 15 kilometres north of Batticaloa, was defeated.

There are five seats in Battialoa, including the bonus.

The votes for the other parties and groups which contested the elections in Batticaloa are:

UNP - 22638

EPDP – 4153

PLOTE – 5601

Independent Group – fish symbol (EPRLF Varathar faction) – 6406


Latest 15 Reports
15.09.20 06:37   Photo
UN Rights Chief joins her predecessors in watering down collective rights of genocide affected people
04.09.20 22:13   Photo
Diaspora youth group re-aligns Tamil narrative on enforced disappearances
03.09.20 15:41   Photo
Jude Lal Fernando’s Sputnik interview exposes unfolding British duplicity on KMS ‘investigations’
02.09.20 22:03   Photo
Gotabaya's ‘Task Force’ monk threatens Tamils to stay away from their paddy fields in Thiriyaay
01.09.20 23:36  
Colombo extends genocidal land grab targeting farmlands of Tamils along NE border: Ravikaran
31.08.20 16:36   Photo
Families of war-disappeared send strong message braving SL restrictions on International Day
08.08.20 01:05   Photo
Sumanthiran alleged of exerting Colombo’s influence to tamper with preferential vote counts
07.08.20 10:08  
2020 election resembles 1970 polls that formed genocidal Sri Lanka
06.08.20 17:22  
Tamil nation-oriented parties challenged in East
05.08.20 23:41  
High voter turnout registered in North-East
04.08.20 20:57   Photo
Occupying Sinhala military reminds Eezham Tamils of whose elections they partake
03.08.20 21:05  
TMVP-linked operatives collaborate with SL Navy, suppress Tamil fishers in Vaakarai
02.08.20 18:29   Photo
Manifestos of TNA, TNPF and TMTK expose lacuna, hint areas for corrections of Tamil polity
01.08.20 21:17  
Unified Eezham Tamil national front, beyond electoral politics, is next step: Jothilingam
31.07.20 22:39  
Colombo isolates Tamil political prisoners within heavily fortified cells
Find this article at: